"Running Lights" - Page 2 - Honda CBR 300 Forum
 18Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #11 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDNHONDAR View Post
Thanks..but I was thinking of any other owners (other than in N.America) could find out from their parts dealer OR perhaps a online European exploded parts list?? Just wondering..
I have also looked into this quite extensively. Including taking the dash out. The 300's sold in the States do not have the lights and the hole has a permanent plug in it. I did not want to fool around with the plug in fear of dirt or humidity getting inside my headlights. Instead I decided to put gloss black vinyl over that part on the outside. Btw my windscreen is also gloss black vinyl and some vinyl car door trim around the top of the windscreen to smooth it out.
CDNHONDAR and atown8605 like this.

Last edited by mikal; 01-10-2016 at 05:16 PM.
mikal is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 09:17 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CDNHONDAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bridgewater Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Good idea! Thanks very much.
mikal likes this.

The problem with bikes aimed at first time riders is that first time riders buy them..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Epic statement...from crazyjackcsa
CDNHONDAR is offline  
post #13 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 09:32 AM
Senior Member
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Get in there with a flashlight and you will see it is actually a totally different molded piece of plastic than the ones sold overseas with the driver's lights. Why we wouldn't get driver's lights beats me
mikal is offline  
 
post #14 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 10:35 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CDNHONDAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bridgewater Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
It was the same with the CBR 250 R...we did not get those lights either. It must be a D.O.T. (legal) thing.
mikal likes this.

The problem with bikes aimed at first time riders is that first time riders buy them..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Epic statement...from crazyjackcsa
CDNHONDAR is offline  
post #15 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 11:11 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CDNHONDAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bridgewater Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
I did find this....

HEADLIGHT/SPEEDOMETER (2) - CBR 300 CBR300RF 2015 EUROPE - CBR300RF - Genuine Honda spare parts

The problem with bikes aimed at first time riders is that first time riders buy them..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Epic statement...from crazyjackcsa
CDNHONDAR is offline  
post #16 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 01:34 PM
Super Moderator
 
MotoMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: 9000 ft. ASL in Colorado, USA
Posts: 2,885
Mentioned: 56 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1017 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDNHONDAR View Post
It was the same with the CBR 250 R...we did not get those lights either. It must be a D.O.T. (legal) thing.
Actually, the CBR250R's imported to the U.S. have two small lights on either side of the headlight. They are called "Position Lights"... the wiring sub-harness is shown as ref# 4 here: Honda Motorcycle Parts 2012 CBR250R 3AC HEADLIGHT Diagram

If you're intent on adding these lights to your 300R, I'm thinking you could probably make this sub-harness from the 250R work, although it may not be a plug and play install. It may require some individual wire splicing to make it work if the 300R's main wiring harness doesn't have the corresponding connector to plug the sub-harness into. That said, I'm thinking that it's possible that the connector for the Position Light sub-harness is already there on your bike's main harness.

The other issue would be fitting the bulb sockets into your headlight housing. Comparing the parts diagram of the European 300R PL sub-harness in the link you posted to the PL sub-harness of the 250R, the bulb sockets appear to be slightly different, although both bikes do use the same P/N for the bulbs.
CDNHONDAR likes this.

“Machines never lie.
Success will always come if they’re really good.
So let’s show the world what we’ve done.
Then they can see the real Honda!”

- Founder Soichiro Honda at the inception of the Honda Collection Hall.




Former Factory Test Rider/Technician
MotoMike is offline  
post #17 of 30 Old 11-08-2015, 02:57 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CDNHONDAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bridgewater Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
In hindsight it would probably be far easier just to get 2 small L.E.D. lights (they require very little current) and attach the leads to a switch able connector. Either have them on all the time with low beam (automatically) or a separate on/off switch. I suppose silicone could used around the base of the bulb to seal out the water.



BTW Thanks Mike I did not know that about the 250 R.
mikal likes this.

The problem with bikes aimed at first time riders is that first time riders buy them..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Epic statement...from crazyjackcsa
CDNHONDAR is offline  
post #18 of 30 Old 11-09-2015, 08:51 AM
Senior Member
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDNHONDAR View Post
In hindsight it would probably be far easier just to get 2 small L.E.D. lights (they require very little current) and attach the leads to a switch able connector. Either have them on all the time with low beam (automatically) or a separate on/off switch. I suppose silicone could used around the base of the bulb to seal out the water.



BTW Thanks Mike I did not know that about the 250 R.
That's exactly what I do. Led lights are extremely cheap and easy to install. I have quite alot of led's on mine.
CDNHONDAR likes this.
mikal is offline  
post #19 of 30 Old 11-09-2015, 01:02 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
CDNHONDAR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Bridgewater Nova Scotia Canada
Posts: 2,513
Mentioned: 32 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1067 Post(s)
(Thread Starter)
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikal View Post
That's exactly what I do. Led lights are extremely cheap and easy to install. I have quite alot of led's on mine.
This must be you then???

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=brNylRRVUMw
kiwi rider and mikal like this.

The problem with bikes aimed at first time riders is that first time riders buy them..
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Epic statement...from crazyjackcsa
CDNHONDAR is offline  
post #20 of 30 Old 11-09-2015, 07:25 PM
Senior Member
 
mikal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Venice, Florida
Posts: 2,069
Mentioned: 51 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 787 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by CDNHONDAR View Post
HAHA not quite there yet!
CDNHONDAR likes this.
mikal is offline  
Reply

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome