Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everybody, I'm new to the thread!
So I purchased a 2018 CB300f roughly 2 months ago, and I've put around 1200 miles on it to date. Around 500-600 miles I started noticing an issue with what seems to be either the chain or the gear box. It only happens maybe once every other ride, but basically when I take off in 1st gear the bike gets to about 8 MPH and then starts to lug a little bit, almost like I am shaking the throttle a little, but I am consistent on it. It continues doing that in 2nd gear, reaching 15-16 MPH and then slowing, almost like I'm running out of gear but the RPM's don't reflect time to shift. Once I get into 3rd gear it pretty much goes away. Does this sound familiar to anyone? I thought maybe it was tight spots in the chain, I need to adjust it anyway. I thought maybe it was an issue with the gears but I thought that I would see it more consistently if that was the case. Could it be an issue with the throttle cable?

The other issue I have had is less frequent, I will be at a stand still in neutral or 1st and the bike while idling will start to stall out. I try to give it gas to counter it but it doesn't help, and sometimes I can't start the bike back up because it's not getting enough throttle.

OTHER than those two things I am loving the bike! I live in Chicago and commute to the suburbs everyday so it's been great for the mid-speed highways and city traffic. Weekend joy rides have been awesome, especially when I find tight winding roads. This bike really does well in tight corners and coming out of them!

Also, anyone in Illinois/chicago area have opinions on lane splitting/filtering? I see a lot of riders doing it even though it is illegal, it terrifies me honestly but I do wish I could get ahead of traffic and avoid potential fender benders.

·
Super Moderator
3,001 Posts
Welcome!