Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Looking to pickup a CBR300R in a few weeks once I get my learners license sorted (only theory to go now).

Anyway, in NZ the dealers have knocked a little off the price of the base CBR300R but the ABS model is a full NZ$1000 more still. What are your guys thoughts on the ABS for a total motorbike newbie for the extra outlay cost?

·
Premium Member
5,514 Posts
Ive never had it on a bike so I don't feel a need for it. I guess you dont miss what you've never had! I'd put the money towards a hot exhaust myself!

Reactions: Gdaddy197

·
Registered
352 Posts
What are your guys thoughts on the ABS for a total motorbike newbie for the extra outlay cost?
Eh, don't worry about it. I don't have it. I am a novice rider myself, and granted I am very very careful on the road, I have had no real need for it, yet anyway. I always ride in ideal conditions (for me). Im sure it could be a standard feature on your next bike so worry about it then maybe.

·
Registered
149 Posts
When I was shopping for a new bike, I made sure to find one with ABS (Prob the biggest reason why I went for the 300R and not the 300F). Resale value improves, and if you NEED it (and I've already engaged it twice in the last 3 months of ownership), you'll be happy you have it. Some insurance companies offer discounts for having ABS as well.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I got mine with ABS with the idea that id rather have it and not need it than need it and not have it, any extra safety is good to me.

·
Registered
140 Posts
ABS is ideal for sure. I personally don't have it on my 300R. I grab the brakes and the bike stops like a champ every time. Just rather spend my money on other goodies for my bike. Just my opinion.

·
Registered
295 Posts
It's not absolutely necessary but it's something that does help. Some people don't like them but it's clearly great for the added safety

·
Registered
203 Posts