Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys. I started riding about a month ago. A little longer, but legally riding started early May. So far I've felt 100% safe, had no issues so far. I've had a few "emergency" stops from bad drivers but nothing crazy.

The longest ride I've taken is a 30 mile ride on the highway, then back. I'm about to go for a 2 hour ride to a "city"(I live in what I'd call a town, 25k population) and I'd be taking a highway for most of the ride, then a freeway for the last 30 minutes. I've never been on the freeway on the bike and I'm a little nervous.

Is there anything I should know before getting up to 80MPH in heavier traffic? It's Friday and the weather is gorgeous up there, so it will be a lot more traffic than I'm used to. I know of the trucks + wind and not staying too close to a truck due to **** flying behind it... Like rocks and such.

To be honest I'm not as worried about the freeway as I am the curvy highway with potential deer/raccoons etc. But still looking for any tips I can get before heading out.

Thanks!

·
Premium Member
3,009 Posts
Riding in and around a smaller town or city is nothing at all like riding on the urban freeways of a large metropolitan area. Even surface street traffic can be pretty freaking insane in big urban & suburban areas. You may find yourself seriously wondering if all those other drivers are intentionally out to kill or seriously injure you.

All I can say, is that you had better have your head in the game (and on a swivel).