Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
This is a pic of my helmet:

Boring isn't it, but a study I read showed that white helmets stand out 24% more to motorists than a dark colored helmet. For that reason I have been buying mono/solid white helmets for the last 18 years.
If a white helmet is going to reduce my risk of someone pulling out in front of me by a quarter then I'm prepared to buy one.
Something for folk new to the fold to think about esp if your in the helmet market.
Each to their own at the end of the day of course. :)

Reactions: King CobRa

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
I have the same lid ATM.

I've never factored in visibility when buying helmets, but since coming to Queensland I have bought white helmets in the belief they will be fractionally cooler, reflecting the sun a tad better. I tend to buy white cars for the same reason.

·
Premium Member
5,502 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yes the cooler factor is an added bonus, not something us living in the South of NZ have to worry too much about!
Should probably invest in a heated helmet :D

·
Registered
151 Posts
you have to answer truthfully.....are you the real stig?

I have the carbon S700 shark helmet which had ok visibility but the helmet trim pretty much fell apart after the first time I washed it. Until then it was good, and the internal flick down visor was very handy.

·
Banned
1,070 Posts
This is a pic of my helmet:

Boring isn't it, but a study I read showed that white helmets stand out 24% more to motorists than a dark colored helmet. For that reason I have been buying mono/solid white helmets for the last 18 years.
If a white helmet is going to reduce my risk of someone pulling out in front of me by a quarter then I'm prepared to buy one.
Something for folk new to the fold to think about esp if your in the helmet market.
Each to their own at the end of the day of course. :)