Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

· Registered
2021 CBR 300
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2021 CBR300 that I bought brand new at the end of May 2022. I do my own maintenance which includes the oil changes. I was told by the dealership to keep all the maintenance receipts in case anything were to happen to the bike mechanically. I work as a technician at a Honda auto dealership so I know this is standard.

Fast forward three oil changes and 4 months later, the bike brakes down and is towed to the dealership. We are told that the motorcycle needs to have a new engine. The dealership asked for the oil change receipts so they could submit them to Honda. I provided the three Walmart receipts to the dealership which include proof of purchase for the oil, oil filter, and other miscellaneous items. From the end of September to the end of December we were left sitting on our hands. We would call the dealership almost every week, but would always be told that they were waiting to hear back from Honda. By the the new year, we were past the point of frustration and asked if there was anything we could do to speed up the process. The dealership provided us with the Honda Customer Relations number which we called.
After two or three phone calls explaining the situation, we were told that the services would not be covered under warranty due to four main reasons concerning the oil changes.
  1. They claimed that the oil grade used was incorrect
  2. They were not able to see part numbers on the receipt to verify that the correct oil and oil filter were used
  3. They were not able to verify what millage the motorcycle was at when the oil changes were completed
  4. They were not able to verify that any work was actually done