Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm looking to hook up a USB socket to my motorcycle under the seat with a permanent USB dongle plugged in (for a car park gate). The idea is to tap into the Licence light ignition switched wire with something like a Posi-tap connector and into a Normally Open relay.

Handwriting Product Rectangle Font Parallel
Rectangle Font Parallel Wood Art

Hopefully, the device will only be powered when the bike is on so I won't have to worry about it draining the battery.

If anything is obviously wrong feel free to yell out as it's my first time doing something like this.

Thanks

·
Registered
509 Posts
Diagram looks OK. Pick up the supply from the brown wire in the rear light. Feed through a relay and the USB can get its supply from the battery (through a fuse). It will only be live when the ignition is on. I run all my accessories - heated grips, DRLs, GPS and USB - through a fusebox with a setup like this.
Motor vehicle Electrical wiring Gas Cable Machine

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 · (Edited)
So I was doing some reading and was thinking if i could just leech power from the fuse box with a fuse socket wire tap and avoid having to deal with a relay and splicing a live wire.

Haven't checked but i'm assuming at least one of the fuse box sockets will be ignition switched and not constant.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
End result:
Automotive design Automotive lighting Automotive exterior Auto part Machine

Fuse socket wire tap (the 10A for the fan which is ignition switched) crimped to the SAE terminal (grounded directly to the battery), connected to USB charger device. Had to butcher the fuse box and zip tie it closed and the wiring isn't great but it works :)

The SAE lead has an in-line fuse, wondering if something happens do both fuses get popped or just one?

·
Super Moderator
418 Posts