Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently noticed a nail in my rear tire. I was wondering if anyone knows if these tires have tubes inside? and what is the best way to plug this tire without having to buy a new one because the tire is still in perfect condition. any advice would be really helpful as i am a newbie to this stuff.

·
Super Moderator
3,009 Posts
No tube... it's a tubeless tire.

Where is the nail hole? If it's in the side wall, you'll have to replace the tire.

If the hole is in the center 2/3 of the tread some people will use a plug, although it's not recommended. In fact most motorcycle shops won't install plugs for liability reasons. Best repair option (IMO the only repair option) is to have the tire dismounted, and patched from the inside. It will then have to be re-balanced. It's not as cheap as a plug, but is still a lot less than replacing the tire.

·
Registered
447 Posts