Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi everyone. I'm fairly new to the motorcycle world. I have a couple questions for the experienced riders out there or anyone that wants to offer tips. For starters I have literally about 1 hour on anything with 2 wheels and a motor and that was an old scooter. I do have a small amount of time with a 4 wheeler with a clutch lever so I'm familiar with using a hand operated clutch and very familiar with a manual in a car if that helps.

Here are my plans for years to come. My plans are to eventually work my way up to a 1000 sport bike once I feel my experience level is there. I'm hoping to start with a 300f since it's inexpensive. I plan to use it as a gas getter back and forth from work. (Hopes are that the gas savings alone will pay the note and Insurance. My daily is a 07 toyota tundra with a 5.7 v8 so city mpg is 13 at best lmao). I'm hoping to use this as my starter bike since I feel the 300 has enough power to fulfill my needs hopefully, (6'3 265lb hoping to go on a diet soon and drop some.weight lmao), but not so much power I get myself in trouble as a new rider, ie end up acidentally wheeling or giving it too much gas in a turn. I am open to other bikes but I want to 1 stick with honda and 2 stick to the sport bike lines. My original plan was to start with the 500 but since the 300 came out I think that would work for me. As I stated after I get my experience I want to then move to a 600 then a 1000.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
I too had the intention of moving up to a supersport (still do), but I'm not in a hurry since this bike is more than enough for me at this stage.