Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

· Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Three weeks ago I took delivery of an 8 year old CBR300F with just over 9,000km on the clock. Its in very good condition with no modifications. But, unless I can sort out the comfort issues it may not last another 3 weeks.

I've been riding bikes for over 55 years and have owned more bikes than is reasonable. Most of them have been 650cc or less, so a small bike was not an issue. My other bike is a Kawi Versys 300. Obviously, I'm not as young as I used to be. Comfort is important! The reason for the "new" bike was that my previous other bike, CFMoto 650GT, although a nice bike was getting too heavy to move around. I was after lite.

Back to comfort - my back aches! Not had this sort of issue for over 35 years. Part of the problem is my body shape - short overall, but long torso and very short limbs. Two issues here: can't reach the ground on many bikes (CBR300F is OK) and can't reach the handle bars, hence I'm crouched over too much.
The roads where I live (mid north coast, NSW, Australia) have been absolutely destroyed in the past 3 years due to continual rain and flooding. Many are still closed and will probably remain that way for some years yet. Crappy roads definitely doesn't help.

Tomorrow I will purchase a set of bar risers and see if that helps. It's pretty much a standard mod I make to many bikes. Helps me sit up straighter so minimising shocks up the spine.