Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm 64 and I've been riding bikes for 50 years. Hondas, Yamahas, Harleys, Victorys.
Never had anything like a CBR before.
Bought a 2015 over the weekend with known issues. Well, kinda.
I knew it had issues I'm just not sure what they are.
Here's the run down. The owner had it for a couple of years and recently it died on the interstate. He hauled it home and after fiddling with it decided to sell it.
His craigslist ad went something like this. "It cranks and runs but when I try to ride it, it stops"
Curiosity had me calling to get the full story. Everything he told me sounded electrical. He felt strongly it was engine related.
No bad noises. Cranked every time when cold with a push of the starter button and after a short period of time (a few seconds to at most 2 minutes) it shut off as if you had turned the key.
Then it wouldn't turn over anymore, like it was seized. Let it cool off and it would crank again, no problem.
I bought it and got it home. The next day I put a battery charger on it and noticed the battery was showing 60% charge. I hit with 25 amps for a little while and it showed 100%.
Cranked right up and as long as I had the charger connected it idled. I turned it off after 10 minutes.
Had the battery tested, bad, replaced.
Changed the oil and yes there is shiny stuff in what drained out.
Ran it around the neighborhood, took it out for about a 2 mile run, gently. Valves (I think) are really noisy.
Any input on the next step would be greatly appreciated.
I'm an average shade tree mechanic and do most of my own repairs on cars but have never done bike work.
Thanks!
Max

·
Premium Member
5,344 Posts