Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 20 of 59 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi folks,

Newbie here. I took the MSF course at a local college late last year and picked up a 300F a couple weeks after. Went to a few dealers and sitting on the 300F just felt so much confidence inspiring than the other bikes i tried. I have only bought used cars so wanted to get something shiny for once :)

I have traditionally been a 4 wheels guy but after years of wussing out I decided to give it a shot. Seeing guys whipping out lap times on 7k bikes that shamed 100k cars on track is part of the motivation for sure. I plan on being a weekend/fair weather rider rather than commuter but a buddy of mine is convinced I will end up selling the cars and replacing them with bikes eventually!

I just broke 500 miles and am doing the first service this Tuesday, once I have ~2k miles I am planning on signing up for a track day or two so that I can get better in a safe environment. I started with a fwd 100 hp car and it helped me tremendously as I couldn't lean on the hp to cover mistakes, so I figure a 300F is a good corollary and getting >70 mpgs going around town is just hilarious!

Hopefully a little less excitement than this will occur at my first bike event (one of my wheels broke in half during a open practice session) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RIHZA_bBu1c

·
Premium Member
5,422 Posts
Welcome along for the ride! Great to see you like getting out on the track. That clip of your wheel failure is quite funny with the wheel rolling past you at the end! Hope you can laugh about it now.
Anyways, great time of year to buy a bike, those 300F's seem really popular in the states. Enjoy!

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·