Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,
Have decided to get a bike as sick of a 1.5hr bus commute each day and have colleagues commute further than me on 250's in around 30 mins! I have no motorcycle experience except being on a scooter for 6 months doing a 5km trip to a bus station.
Anyway, I took my basic skills handling course before the holidays and passed so only have my theory to do next week and should be set.

So my question is, as I have no experience riding a bike on the road (scooter excepted) do you think its wise getting straight on a bike like this (test ride first)? I'm comfortable with the clutch etc as no had no issues with that and am comfortable on the road, just wondering how many of you have been like me thats all.

Live on the North Shore of Auckland, New Zealand fwiw.

Thanks!

Andy

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
The only experience I had was driving cars with a manual transmission and riding bicycles... And I did okay catching on.

Just start out very slowly and be cautious... This is always a wise idea.

Go for the test ride as you mentioned, and see what you personally think as well.
@kiwi rider is another fellow member from NZ... Should chime in shortly for his feedback to you. ;)

Reactions: Puk

·
Premium Member
5,459 Posts
G'day from the South Island!
Yep, good choice of first bike, low seat, user-friendly power delivery and sweet handling.
Like Fanatic said, the test ride will help you decide if this is the bike for you. You've got the throttle/clutch co-ordination sorted already so you should be sweet.
Luckily for you most of the dealers have dropped the price by $500 since release so you should be able to pick one up for $7k in AKL, dont pay any more.
You have a choice of the naked 'F' model or the faired 'R' model, but u prob already know that.
Ideal commuter, I've seen up to 36km/l on mine once when I slapped a restraining order on my right wrist!

·
Registered
46 Posts