Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,
If you saw my post in the intro forum you know that I started of on a small cruiser. Since I started riding the CBR I have noticed that I don't even get half as many waves from fellow riders on cruisers as I used to. All the other sport bike folks still wave. I spoke to a friend whose 70 year old father and lifelong rider said many cruiser riders are disgusted by sport bike riders. Saddens me to think that any of this is true.
Have any of you experienced this or do you know of any unspoken hatred by the cruiser community toward the sport bike guys? I truly hope this is not the case. One of the reasons I started riding was because of the camaraderie. I used to drive a jeep and I loved the community associated with those. You'd think as long as we're all on two wheels we're all brothers/sisters.
Thanks!

·
Registered
236 Posts
Funny story about the "wave:"

My previous bike was a 599 (in case you couldn't tell from my pic). The front headlight is round, so when other bikes would approach from head on, they often thought I was riding a cruiser. It was kind of funny seeing guys start to give me the "wave," then hurry and pull their hand back in disgust because they realized that I was on a sport bike instead.

Not sure why there has to be some kind of rivalry here. People just like to ride different machines, and that's ok. Maybe it's because there are a few douche bags out there who give us a bad name.

·
Registered
419 Posts
Just a culture thing. I have noticed that in a big group of sport-bikes we still get waves from cruisers and ADV bikes, but on my own not usually. I could care less anyways, if they don't like bikes with actual performance they have poor taste.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts