Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I bought a used 2012 cbr250r, which I gather is almost the same as a Cbr300r (Cbr300r fairings which the previous owner fitted are a perfect fit). The previous owner also had some spicy performance mods: power commander 5, Leo Vince sbk slip on, ohlims, etc.

As I wanted to make sure it was in as good condition as possible before I started riding it, I brought it in to my regular shop to get a inspection and valve check done. But my mechanic told me that the PC5 was over riding the stock ecu, and he had to remove it and reset the stock ecu so he could do the valve checks, and he couldn't simply remove the PC5 to bring it back to stock fuelling. He also told advised me to do so as he said the PC5 would affect the reliability of my engine and I would have to keep bringing the bike in for regular tuning, which I am confused about. Does anyone have any insight on this?

·
Registered
8 Posts
So I bought a used 2012 cbr250r, which I gather is almost the same as a Cbr300r (Cbr300r fairings which the previous owner fitted are a perfect fit). The previous owner also had some spicy performance mods: power commander 5, Leo Vince sbk slip on, ohlims, etc.

As I wanted to make sure it was in as good condition as possible before I started riding it, I brought it in to my regular shop to get a inspection and valve check done. But my mechanic told me that the PC5 was over riding the stock ecu, and he had to remove it and reset the stock ecu so he could do the valve checks, and he couldn't simply remove the PC5 to bring it back to stock fuelling. He also told advised me to do so as he said the PC5 would affect the reliability of my engine and I would have to keep bringing the bike in for regular tuning, which I am confused about. Does anyone have any insight on this?