Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys! Maybe it's just me cuz I'm a newbie in the moto world but have you guys experienced the gear not being able to go to neutral? I was stopped at the traffic light and my left hand was tired from pressing the clutch... So I decided to put it to neutral but it's not letting me or sometimes if I find it it's stuck there... What am I doing wrong? Please help!

·
Registered
149 Posts
When that happens I just slowly release the clutch until I hear a click or feel the bike react. Then pull the clutch back again and then usually that'll allow me to shift again.

·
Registered
140 Posts
Dripkit couldn't have explained it any better. Once you get the feel for it ......you'll have that 'ah ha' moment , then it will come naturally for ya......Have fun out there!

·
Registered
58 Posts
Getting into neutral (at least on the CBR300) is pretty easy- very soft click up from first, or very soft click down from 2nd. Just have to be pretty gentle

Getting back into first is sometimes tricky- the CBR300 doesn't always go into first when the clutch is all the way squeezed. Try these three possible solutions (try the first one, then try the next if it still isn't going into gear):

1. Let the clutch out just a little
2. Let the clutch all the way out, then back in
3. Rock the bike forward and back a little

Number 1 usually does it for me. Right before the friction zone is the sweet spot for dropping into first. There were other people on the forums that had the same problem with the CBR300. It just doesn't seem to want to go into first when the clutch is squeezed all the way in

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
Boy, I'm late to the party, lol. Everyone looks to be spot on within their advice / pointers.

No problem, just something to adapt with and work around. I was confused at first too, and I just experimented with trial / error. You'll get it.

·
Registered
4 Posts