Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I've had my first bike, a CBR300RA, for about 3 months now and I love it! I've learned a lot from browsing this forum, but I had some additional questions I was hoping to get some clarification on.

I followed the hard break-in procedure I read about on here, taking it easy on the bike for the first 50 miles and then I started riding it like how I would normally ride. After I hit 125 miles I started taking the bike to redline and then letting the engine decelerate a few times, as I saw suggested on here, and when I drive normally I shift between 6-8k rpm. Now I'm at 270 miles, I haven't been able to ride as much as I wanted due to being busy at work and being unable to ride highways until the break-in is complete. I plan to get an oil change at 300-350 miles, and then another one at 600 miles. Just wanted to check and make sure I was getting it right?

Also, I noticed that when I first start the bike the engine sounds a lot louder than when I start it up again after it's been warmed up. Is this normal? The bike does feel a lot smoother now than when I first got it, but I occasionally have trouble shifting (but that could be the boots I'm wearing). The exhaust also seems to get really hot, and I'm not sure if that's normal as well.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
So long as your oil changes are within the recommended intervals, you'll be fine. To be honest, non-turbo road bikes and cars could probably happily exceed the stated intervals by a large margin quite safely, but it's a cheap thing to do, so why take the risk, eh?