Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm a first time bike owner that is looking to do some maintenance myself so that I can save some money and also get myself more in tune with my motorcycle. I've done some basic work like cleaning/replacing air filters and oil changes in my car so I'm not a total noob, but I don't have any experience when it comes to motorcycles.

I'm currently at a little over 600 miles, I did a hard break in (well, the best that I could manage as a new rider haha) and got the oil changed, chain cleaned and adjusted, at 310 miles. After doing some research on the forums it seems I can wait until 1,000 miles for my second oil change, but I would need to do the 600 mile service. From what I read on here, it seems that the only thing you would need to do would be an oil change and cleaning/adjusting/lubing the chain. And since I got an oil change already at 300 miles, I'd just need to clean/lube/adjust the chain, correct?

I'm also looking for advice on what tools to purchase, it seems like I'd need the following:

Rear stand: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DO3AC1C/ (found this mentioned by someone here and it seems like a decent deal, I'm just wondering if I need to get a combo one for the front wheel as well?

Chain grease: Any specific brand recommendations?

Chain brush: Any specific recommendations?

Also, what are the tools I'll need specifically to adjust the chain? My roommate has a basic toolkit but I'd like to start getting my own stuff and make a collection.

Sorry for the noob questions, and thanks in advance!

·
Registered
401 Posts