Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am looking into some security for my bike. Anyone have experience with the Xena alarm disc locks? The CBR300 isn't listed on their page so I'm not sure if it will actually fit. They have a scooter-sized lock as well, maybe that will fit if the normal lock is too large. I sent them an email asking the same question and I will post the results.

I was thinking of building a tilt alarm too. A small tilt sensor and loud buzzer wired into the stock 12v battery and hide a small on-off switch somewhere on the bike. I have plenty of experience with DIY electronics so building/wiring would not be an issue.

What do you guys think? What security do you use?

·
Registered
1,260 Posts
i used a rear disc lock/alarm when shopping etc
plus uncroppable british chain and lock thru
swingarm and rear wheel then around a
mature gum tree [growing out of the road]
when at home, with zero parking my apartment..

good reports of gps tracking systems
which can send gps location data
to police stations, giving some chance
of a recovery, once they've got her..

the disc lock also had a motion function
if you moved the lock or the motorcycle..

they can always throw it into back of a van or ute
and drive away, but cant wheel her away or
move rear wheel forward [lock close to brake]
or far backwards for maneuvering etc..

a serious uncroppable chain with genuine lock
will deter most thieves due to the difficulty factor..
they can still get it with a blowtorch or serious disc
cutter, but that takes some time at least, during which
any other alarm will be activated..

parked in inside a secure garage with good chain
anchored into cement floor, with alarms,
is at least a deterrent to most thieves..

your best bet ultimately is good insurance..
even if they get your motorcycle and it isnt
coming back [broken to parts etc] at least
you can get whatever dollars you insured her