Honda CBR 300 Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a college student looking to buy my first motorcycle, I have about 5 grand left over from scholarships that I got back from the college, and I wanted to buy a motorcycle because I always thought it would be fun and it would cut the money I spend on gas in half.

The main motorcycle I was looking at was the CBR300R or CB300F because it has good gas mileage, it's not too expensive and it looks pretty nice. My Mom's boyfriend, who has been riding since he was 9 and has mainly ridden cruisers think that I'll get bored with a 300 really quickly and that I should get something at least a 500cc. I've thought about maybe the CBR500R but that might be out of my price range depending on the dealerships around my place and if I can get it used or not.

So my main question is, is it worth it getting the CBR300R, do most riders get bored with something that has that kind of power? Are there any other kind of motorcycles I should look into getting with my kind of budget (Looking for a motorcycle that I can fill up every 180-200 miles so need a range above that)? What kind of things should I look out for when buying a motorcycle?

Btw, I live in Phoenix, AZ and I do have my motorcycle endorsement, I got it from a safety course.

·
Registered
101 Posts
Like most things, once you get familiar with it you want something faster and sexier. Bikes, cars, girlfriend and the list goes on.

I'd take a moment to go over again why you want a motorcycle. Sounds like economics play a large factor with the price and mileage of the bike. The 300 fits nicely here.

It's your first bike. 300 is probably a good option as it's light and forgiving. When a heavy bike wants to tip over it's going to tip over.

Do you have to jockey it around anywhere? I've found myself in some tight parking spots and I can lift the back end of my 300 enough to drag it around easily.