Honda CBR 300 Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got my matte black and yellow cbr. I'm a noob when it comes to care for a bike but I'm worried about scratching the tank with my zipper. Any thoughts on what type of tank pad goes with a matte black finish?

·
Registered
2,565 Posts
For me..what I found was clear Mac-Tac from a hardware store. Cut to size/shape you want and stick it to the tank. When you want to remove it use some Spray9. or WD 40.

·
Registered
1,498 Posts
I had the dealer fit a clear pad before delivery. Looks fine and does its job. Wish I'd done it myself though, because they got a couple of air bubbles underneath, which annoys me a little.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
This is just me, but I didn't bother with a tank sticker, and I just try to be careful with preventing any harsh or aggressive materials, chains, and zippers from coming into contact with the tank. It looked good throughout my ownership, and I was worried about scratches too.

·
Registered
225 Posts
This is just me, but I didn't bother with a tank sticker, and I just try to be careful with preventing any harsh or aggressive materials, chains, and zippers from coming into contact with the tank. It looked good throughout my ownership, and I was worried about scratches too.
Same here, I'm not one to lean up against the tank like I'm racing. Usually I'm slightly leaned forward, but mostly upright. However, if I did lean over, I would probably opt to get one. Just to avoid scratches.

·
Registered
1,389 Posts
If you care about the paint put one on. Sh** happens as they say, and I promise when you DO scratch your tank, it will have been an accident and you won't be thrilled.

TechSpec Snake Skin Center Tank Pad - RevZilla

Wife has the Tank Pro 90 in Snakeskin on her CB300F. My personal recommendation anyways as far as product is concerned.
This does make sense... Better to be safe than sorry, I suppose.